in ,

2024 One World Media Awards for Journalists in Developing Countries.

One World Media Awards for Journalists in Developing Countries
Want create site? Find Free WordPress Themes and plugins.

The One World Media Awards provide a platform to acknowledge outstanding contributions in global journalism. These awards specifically honor exceptional media coverage of the global south, spotlighting stories that challenge stereotypes, reshape narratives, and foster connections between diverse cultures.

The judging process involves the meticulous evaluation of hundreds of entries from across the globe. Distinguished professionals, carefully chosen from both the media and non-profit sectors, serve as judges, bringing their extensive experience and expertise to assess the submissions.

Spanning 15 categories and various media platforms, the awards aim to celebrate and recognize the most impactful media coverage of underreported stories from around the world. By doing so, the One World Media Awards contribute to the recognition of excellence in journalism that goes beyond conventional narratives, shedding light on vital yet often overlooked issues on a global scale.

The One World Media Awards cover a diverse range of categories, including print, digital, audio, and visual media. The aim is to highlight stories that break through stereotypes, challenge prevailing narratives, and promote cross-cultural understanding. Journalists from developing countries are encouraged to submit their work for consideration.

The judging process involves panels of distinguished professionals, selected for their expertise and experience in the media and non-profit sectors. They carefully assess the entries to recognize excellence in journalism that goes beyond conventional reporting, focusing on issues that may be overlooked in mainstream media.


  • A unique opportunity to be recognised by some of the industry’s top professionals and to gain a wider audience for your work
  • The only Awards recognising excellence in international journalism and filmmaking specifically from and about the global south
  • They are established, with 32 years of providing a platform for important stories to be shared and celebrated

Requirements For The One World Media Awards for Journalists in Developing Countries

All entries should focus on stories, topics or issues in, about or related to low- and middle-income countries across the global south. This includes countries across Africa, Asia, the Caribbean, Latin America, the Middle East, Russia or the Post-Soviet States. Jurors will be looking for media that covers underreported stories or new angles and approaches to more familiar stories.

Entries must have had their first screening, broadcast, theatrical release, launch or publication between 9 February 2024 and 8 February 2024.

With the exception of the Special Award, all categories are open to entrants anywhere in the world, as long as the work meets one of the following criteria:

  • The entry has been broadcast, screened or published (in print or in an established online publication/website) in the UK; OR
  • The entry has been broadcast or published (in an established print/online publication/website) internationally and is available for an English-speaking audience; OR
  • The entry has been screened at an international film festival

Selection Process


Entries will be evaluated based on the overall merit of the piece, with an emphasis on:

Relevance, originality and creativity of the coverage

  • Highlights underreported stories or issues
  • Explores new angles on familiar topics
  • Challenges misperceptions and/or stereotypes of the global south

Substance and accuracy of the coverage

  • Depth of research and analysis
  • Accurate and balanced reporting that highlights the voices and perspectives of people in and from the global south

Impact and reach of the coverage

  • Demonstrates the actual impact or potential for the coverage to catalyse change
  • May have prompted additional media coverage or policy change
  • Consideration may be given to the total audience reached


  • Entries need to demonstrate a commitment to diversity and representation in areas, such as: subject representation, themes and narratives, project team, industry access and opportunities for diversity in audience development.

Quality of the coverage

  • Well-crafted, structured and engaging
  • High production and editorial values
  • Distils and presents complex topics to the target audience in an understandable and accessible way


  • Open for entries: 4 Jan
  • Close for entries: 8 February 
  • Longlist announced: 27 March 
  • Nominees announced: 2 May 
  • Awards ceremony: June 2024

Method of Application

Visit The Official Website to Apply

For More Information,

Application Deadline: February 8, 2024.

Visit the Official Website

Did you find apk for android? You can find new Free Android Games and apps.
Get Notifications Faster by:
Visited 1 times, 1 visit(s) today
University of Pittsburgh Heinz Fellowships

2024 University of Pittsburgh Heinz Fellowships for Developing Countries.

2024 SMACON Post Graduate Fellowship.

2024 SMACON Post Graduate Fellowship.\